first fruit of 2012.

Everything since last week has been about His love and His forgiveness.

First it was me asking Jesus to teach me to forgive the situation that had caused me to quit on my assignment before it was completed. There were twenty good reasons encouraging my anger towards the situation and the person involved.

Then yesterday it was timmy’s turn. The past year has been challenging for him work wise. A boss whom he couldn’t see eye to eye with and agendas that didn’t give him peace. The frustration accumulated and caused him to dislike his boss very much. Yesterday was the finale. Yesterday was the day he gave up. Or so he thought.

When he heard the words that Jesus spoke through me, he knew in his heart that he is a victor and not a victim. And as I shared my experience of forgiving with him, the peace of Jesus melted his frustration and disappointment. He let go of what was brewing in his heart for so long and he asked Jesus to teach him to forgive.

And as I gave sound to the words that were coming out of me, we both heard loud and clear that Timmy has accomplished what he was sent to do. We both believe that his boss will feel the love of Jesus through Timmy and he will never ever again treat anyone in a manner they don’t deserve and he will be righteous in all his ways.

This morning Timmy handed his letter to his boss. Unlike other times, this was a letter of victory. Unlike other man, he has asked for forgiveness for not being able to see eye to eye.

And I hear my father in heaven saying right now “these are my beloved children in whom I am so well pleased.”

This is our very first fruit for this year. And it is the love of Jesus that bore this fruit in our life. The fruit of forgiving. The fruit of forgiveness.

I have one person to thank and that is my pastor. In my anger last week, I had randomly listened to one of his sermons and I heard him quote what Jesus said to his father when he was all broken and bloodied and hanging on the lonely cross for the world to see – And Jesus prayed, Father, forgive them, for they know not what they do.

This prayer of Jesus set me free. I knew then that people do not know what they do to us. They were just instruments used by the evil one in his plot against us.

And my reading in today’s chapter of the 100 days of favour sums up these two weeks:

20120224-113933.jpg

We love because He first loved us.
We forgive because He first forgave us.

With all He has done, this is my humble praise:
A man went to the cross
To die my death.
He did what no other man will do.
With his arms wide stretched,
He gave it all up
For me.
This is love.
Love that is willing.
Love that is able.
Love that is pure.
Love that is forgiving.
Love that never leaves nor forsakes.
This is the love of my life.
And in his love I live.
Amen.

Leave a Reply

