psalm 23.

“THE LORD is my Shepherd [to feed, guide, and shield me], I shall not lack. He makes me lie down in [fresh, tender] green pastures; He leads me beside the still and restful waters. He refreshes and restores my life; He leads me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake. Yes, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear or dread no evil, for You are with me; Your rod [to protect] and Your staff [to guide], they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with oil; my [brimming] cup runs over. Surely goodness, mercy, and unfailing love shall follow me all the days of my life, and through the length of my days the house of the Lord [and His presence] shall be my dwelling place.”

Psalm 23 gave me strength and assurance when I was struggling with my decision to quit my job early last year. I can’t remember how and where I came across this but it came at the right time.

Yesterday, a year and half later, I read these words again. I paused at each sentence. I spoke each word out loud. And I saw the faithfulness of my Jesus.

There was no lack. There was always an increase. Opportunities knocked at my door. I learnt new things and old things didn’t seem that difficult. In good and bad times, He was around to applaud and cheer me on. When I depended on man or myself, I discovered that only He is necessary. His words comforted me. His peace assured me that tomorrow is a better day.

As I look forward to the end of my current assignment which also means the end of the work year for me, I can’t stop praising my Jesus.

He didn’t walk away when I got angry. He didn’t give up when I wanted to. He didn’t stop when I felt I was going nowhere. He carried me all the way.

This is my god and I wish I could say that I love Him. But I doubt I know what love is. Only He does. Only He can.

Leave a Reply

